News:

All future registrations will need to be approved before activation
due to the increase in spammers registering.

Main Menu

Advanced Controls

Started by Jason, November 06, 2016 @ 12:20:22 AM

Jason

I've played quite a bit of FIFA over the past few years without learning or using the advanced controls in the game and it made wonder if I'm in the minority with this. It also got me thinking about some other games, like NBA 2K and PES, which also offer a ton of advanced controls that I don't really use. Even with Madden, a game I've been playing since 1991, I don't use the advanced, Street Fighter-type running controls they added to the game starting back with Madden 13.

Today I did spend a little time trying to learn some of the simpler advanced controls in FIFA 17 in the hopes it would bring some new life to game, and while I did learn some new tricks, I still felt a lot of the moves were overly complicated and not essential to really enjoy the game.

How deep do you guys go with learning the controls with sports games? Some of these games, especially the NBA 2K series, really require a big commitment to master all the controls and I question how much of it is needed to really enjoy the game or be successful, even on higher difficulties. I think some of it may have to do with me playing many of these games long before the controls became overly complicated, so I kind of stuck with what I knew and was comfortable with. It also doesn't help that some of the moves are so hard to pull off that the success rate in using them is very low.

I guess the most important thing is if I'm having fun with the games the way I play them, and the answer to that is yes, but I guess I'm wondering if they could be even more fun.

Ted

The older I get the more I need to keep it simple.  Slower reflexes.  And not a lot of free time to master advanced controls.