News:

All future registrations will need to be approved before activation
due to the increase in spammers registering.

Main Menu

Cord Cutting

Started by Jason, August 28, 2017, 12:25:17 PM

Jason

As someone who hates all cable companies and Verizon, I've been looking to eliminate as many of their services as possible. Right now I'm with Comcast/Xfinity and use my own cable modem to avoid the monthly fees of renting their crap equipment. For my TV service, I have one digital/HD box in my living room and one analog box in my daughter's room. That leaves my older son's room, my bedroom and my office with no TV service because the thought of paying monthly fees for all the boxes and remotes pisses me off.

My biggest complaint with Comcast is the promotional pricing. Every year I need to call and argue to get another year of the promotional pricing. I've been doing this for 8 years now and even got the FCC involved 4 years ago, and it's getting old quickly. I wish they would just offer a good price for everyone and leave it alone, even though this wouldn't solve the problem of their ever-increasing prices/fees all the time.

Thankfully, I don't use Comcast's phone service either. I switched to Ooma a few years ago and never looked back. I initially purchased my Ooma box for around $65 and only pay the taxes and fees for my phone service, which comes out to less than $5 a month. There's no monthly equipment rental and I'm not forced to use Comcast's modem, which I would be if I used their phone service. Honestly, if Ooma weren't so cheap and problem-free, I'd just eliminate my land-line completely since no one even uses it anymore.